Skip To Content

Best Auto Repair, Chicago

6424 W Higgins Ave Chicago, IL 60656

773-763-4488
Opening Hours
  • Mon 8:00AM - 6:00PM
  • Tue 8:00AM - 6:00PM
  • Wed 8:00AM - 6:00PM
  • Thu 8:00AM - 6:00PM
  • Fri 8:00AM - 6:00PM
  • Sat Closed
  • Sun Closed
CONTACT US

You Don't Have to Take Our Word for It!

Here's what some of our satisfied customers have to say about Ernie's Local Automotive Service:

reviewicon
10/27/2012

ernie's is family owned for many years and they really care about getting your car fixed right and back on the road. This is the best car repair service I've ever used and they only fix what is wrong, not other stuff that really didn't need to be done!



reviewicon
03/28/2013

My car broke down and I was able to lurch it to within 200 feet of Ernie's right after closing time. They stayed after, jump my car and help me into their secured lot. After that they had the car ready by 3 P.M. the next day for a very reasonable price. The parts have been holding up perfectly for over a month now. Can't recommend these guys enough. I would definitely return should the need arise.



reviewicon
09/02/2013

good place.. explain to women, too.



reviewicon
09/04/2015

Had a blazer that needed a transmission and they got it done with speed and at a great price!



reviewicon
04/28/2016

A neighborhood garage that does good work and won't rip you off.



reviewicon
01/21/2017

My windshield wipers decided to suddenly quit working on a rainy day...bad news. I Googled an auto shop close to where I was located, since I'm from out of town and haven't established a mechanic yet - safe to say I've got one now! I walked into Ernie's and was greeted by Larry, who handed my keys off right away - I didn't have to wait, which surprised and delighted me since they looked busy. 45 minutes later, they had temporarily fixed the issue (exactly what I wanted since my dad is a mechanic in Southern Illinois and I just needed a temp. fix to get me home). They didn't try to convince me I needed a new this or a new that, they just fixed it like any good shop would do. I LOVE this local business! Three generations of family working there, and they talk to you like you're a real person. Fair price, quick service, and they didn't make me feel like an idiot! Will absolutely be returning for future service on my car, and would gladly recommend them to anyone.



reviewicon
03/16/2017

Good service. A bit too high on prices and sometimes takes too long to fix.



reviewicon
12/22/2017

It's a great place to have any work done they are always nice and extremely honest



reviewicon
04/05/2018

This place is the best. Walter is kind, fun, & reliable. As a lady who just wants to know my car is all good, I feel safe trusting the team there to take care of what's necessary & also keep the cost reasonable.



reviewicon
08/14/2018

Honest mechanics. Saved me hundreds of dollars versus the dealership.



reviewicon
11/19/2018

Went above and beyond to help me keep my 2007 Ford Focus on the road by coming up with a super economical solution to allow my car to heat properly.



reviewicon
03/28/2019

They do exceptional work on your car.



reviewicon
09/23/2019

It is locally owned not a chain. Extremely clean and great customer service. Competitive prices too!



reviewicon
09/23/2019

My family has been going here for many years. Larry and Ernie Jr. have always been honest when it comes to repairs. They give fair prices and always fix me up in a day. When I lived out of town, I've had them fix other's mistakes. I highly recommend these guys!!!!!!!



reviewicon
10/23/2019

They took care of my car, explained what they'd be doing and how long it would take and gave me an exact price. I'm certainly coming back!



reviewicon
12/01/2019

Great service!



reviewicon
01/27/2020

Dependable and fair pricimg



reviewicon
01/28/2020

Great place. Had a simple problem they fixed quickly and didn't over charge me.



reviewicon
05/05/2020

I would recommend this shop to a friend. This shop exceeded my expectations in all aspects. I called them asking if they could do some suspension work on my van. Ernie's shop gave me a great quote and immediate service. I had suspension work done on my vehicle the same day. Same day service may not apply if the shop is busy. First come, first serve. If you are curious about what Ernie's shop can do for you, just give them a call. This is the quickest way to reach them. I will definitely be returning for future mechanical repairs if needed.



reviewicon
05/08/2020

Car is running like a beast!!! Thank You guys!!!



reviewicon
05/12/2020

Great place for car service! Excellent staff!! No pressure sales and their prices are the best too!



reviewicon
05/16/2020

I took my car to this shop for the first time and it was a great experience! I went in with a list of things that seemed to be wrong and they addressed all of it. They are well priced, polite, family owned, and honest. Thank you Ernie's Local Automotive Services for a great experience and job well done! :)



reviewicon
05/18/2020

I have been a regular customer at Ernie's since 2010. Ernie Jr. and Larry know my 2002 Volkswagen Jetta very well because they had replaced the engine. When I am in the Markt to change vehicles, I would know who to ask. Thank you for all the years of great service.



reviewicon
07/16/2020

Might be a tiny bit pricier than other places. But, they get the job done right!



reviewicon
09/27/2020

Very honest work with a very friendly Atmosphere. The owner Ernie explained well and I felt customers in this shop will not be taken advantage of.I am definitely taking my car here for future services.



reviewicon
12/08/2020

My car died and was able to tow there instantly with their tow recommendation. Problem diagnosed and fixed quickly, no BS. Highly recommended this place.



reviewicon
10/19/2013

Ernie's is a reliable, professional Auto Shop. I highly recommend them. I have been a loyal customer for 30+ years and they have always done a very good job.



reviewicon
11/21/2013

Ernie's customer service is 5*+ !!!! Reliable, trustworthy, respectful to women, etc - the best!! Would recommend to everyone.



reviewicon
06/12/2014

THANKS FOR A GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!!!!! Always great service, fast and friendly. Really like how clean the shop is kept, no loose screws stuck in my tires after i leave the shop.



reviewicon
07/20/2014

Great job as always. Neat, clean, expert work.



reviewicon
11/14/2014

Always done right the first time.



reviewicon
12/03/2014

I can always count on Larry and Ernie. Their shop is the neighborhood "go to" auto repair place. They are honest, trustworthy and reasonable in cost. Can't beat that!



reviewicon
12/03/2014

I've been going to Ernie's for 15 years. I always get great service, and I completely trust their recommendations and abilities to keep my cars running well. Don't look anywhere else.



reviewicon
12/08/2014

Honest Honest Honest.Trust them Trust them Trust them



reviewicon
12/17/2014

I have been a loyal customer of Ernie's for over 30 years. I trust them completely to be honest and reliable. They have done excellent auto repair and maintenance on my car(s) over the years. They have never let me down.



reviewicon
12/18/2014

Always friendly and efficient. These folks take pride in their work and in the way they treat their customers.



reviewicon
12/25/2014

The crew at Ernies provided the diagnosis of the problem and a realistic fai quote for the repair. I have always experienced great service.



reviewicon
12/25/2014

I'm always satisfied with the service and work. It's nice to be able to trust that that work will be completed correctly the first time.



reviewicon
02/23/2015

AS ALWAYS, PROMPT,PROFESSIONAL SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!



reviewicon
05/12/2015

To All of you at Ernie's Automotive: I am so glad our son Bill recommended you to us. Every time we have needed any kind of service done on our car, you have earned all 5 stars. Besides the excellent work, the atmosphere is so pleasant and friendly. Thanks from both of us. Bob & Elaine Swanson



reviewicon
06/03/2015

Excellent service, as always.. I have a 1999 Camry that still runs well thanks to regular oil changes and maintenance at Ernie's. They are the best!



reviewicon
06/10/2015

Always very helpful and accommodating.



reviewicon
07/09/2015

Great family-run, neighborhood business. Always professional and accurate in all aspects, customer and technical service.



reviewicon
07/23/2015

the best!



reviewicon
10/15/2015

Great work. Been going to them for years. They take care of your car and know what the problem is and the price is fair and reasonable.



reviewicon
10/29/2015

Excellent local service you can rely on.



reviewicon
01/13/2016

Have always felt that I was treated honestly here, coupled with the timeliness of repair has left me more than satisfied with the work Ernie's does.



reviewicon
02/06/2016

Good friendly service



reviewicon
02/17/2016

Friendly and courteous service every time. Always goes the extra mile to make sure their customers are satisfied.



reviewicon
04/08/2016

A first-class operation. They tell you what has to be done and don't try to scare you into getting costly repairs you don't need. Also, they go the extra mile, like road testing the car after fixing it.



reviewicon
04/10/2016

Excellent mechanic. Very trustworthy.



reviewicon
04/28/2016

Wouldn't take my CRV to any other shop but Ernie's. They are the neighborhood good guys. Smart, courteous, reasonable and professional.



reviewicon
05/19/2016

Always great work



reviewicon
07/21/2016

EXCELLENT SERVICE YOU CAN TRUST!



reviewicon
07/25/2016

excellent repairs and prices



reviewicon
08/28/2016

Always excellent service from a company my family and I have been using for many years. Ernie and Larry are individuals that treat their customers with respect and know their business. I feel I can rely on them to resolve any problem I have with any of the family vehicles.



reviewicon
09/08/2016

The best place to go in Chicago for car service and repairs. I have been a customer for over 30 years and have no complaints.



reviewicon
03/15/2017

Ernie's is a very trustworthy place, very honest and does great work.



reviewicon
05/17/2017

Excellent service, reasonable pricing and very honest and trustworthly mechanics!! I will take my cars here even if I move and I always recommend them to friends. They will help you with any auto needs!



reviewicon
11/01/2018

We don't like when our car breaks down, but when it does, we don't mind taking it to Ernie's. We value their honesty and fair prices. We would give them a 10 star rating :)



reviewicon
01/11/2019

Great job as usual



reviewicon
12/23/2019

Two previous shops were unable to diagnose a faulty coolant temp. sending unit and wanted to perform "troubleshooting" - YEAH RIGHT, lol. Ernies diagnosed the problem correctly and replaced it. I won't go anywhere else from now on.



reviewiconPhenomenal Service
Engine Maintenance
02/07/2020

Big shout out to the crew at Ernie's. They always have phenomenal service. But this time they really outdid themselves. Before leaving on a family trip we asked for a regular oil change. Luckily they checked the car knowing we were traveling and diagnosed brakes issues and a problem with the AC. So glad, they checked, no AC and problem brakes would have been disastrous. On this trip we would be traveling in three separate cars and just before departure one of the vehicles had a headlamp out and the other a flat from a screw on the road, just before departure. What are the odds? Well no problem the crew repaired the tire and had the headlamp changed quickly so we were able to leave on time and enjoy our trip. Thanks to everyone at Ernie's!!


reviewiconFair and Honest Service
Electrical Services, near Chicago, IL
02/07/2020

Was driving home down 90 after work and something was going on with the electric system. I needed service immediately so I looked up the closest service station and Ernie's came up. I called and described my situation and Ernie said come on over. I pulled in and they quickly diagnosed the issue and had it fixed within 45 minutes and charged a very fair and honest fee. Great service!!


reviewiconErnie's is a 5 star place!
Chicago, IL
02/07/2020

When I went there for some frame work they referred me back to my dealer when they knew it was covered by warranty which saved me loads, They also just did my routine service efficiently and it was very fairly priced. Ernie's is a 5 star place in my book.


01/28/2020

Great place. Had a simple problem they fixed quickly and didn't over charge me.



11/15/2019

Great service!


10/31/2019

They took care of my car, explained what they'd be doing and how long it would take and gave me an exact price. I'm certainly coming back!



10/04/2019

My family has been going here for many years. Larry and Ernie Jr. have always been honest when it comes to repairs. They give fair prices and always fix me up in a day. When I lived out of town, I've had them fix other's mistakes. I highly recommend these guys!!!!!!!



09/15/2020

It is locally owned not a chain. Extremely clean and great customer service. Competitive prices too!



reviewiconThis is the best body shop I've ever worked with!
Auto Body / Paint / Refinishing Services, near Chicago, IL
02/04/2020

They do care about my car like how they care about their own car. They examined the car carefully as always. I'm highly recommend this body shop!!



03/29/2019

They do exceptional work on your car.



02/01/2019

Went above and beyond to help me keep my 2007 Ford Focus on the road by coming up with a super economical solution to allow my car to heat properly.



coupons

Free Brake Inspection with all Tire Rotations!

view coupon

  • ACDelco
  • ASE (Automotive Service Excellence)
  • NAPA
  • ASE Master Technician
  • BBB Accredited Business
  • ASA Member (Automotive Service Association)
  • Car Care Aware

Testimonials

, 10/27/2012
ernie's is family owned for many years and they really care about getting your car fixed right and back on the road. This is the best car repair service I've ever used and they only fix what is wrong, not other stuff that really didn't need to be done!
view all reviews
TAP TO CALL NOW 773-763-4488 X